Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone! It has ALWAYS been a tradition in my family to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with corned beef & cabbage, potatoes, carrots, Irish soda bread, mashed potatoes, green beer, family, and music. It all started with my Irish grandparents, wearing green, sporting Irish sweaters and hats, and listening to traditional Irish music! The BEST part about St. Patrick’s Day is EVERYONE is IRISH and can partake in all the festivities! So my hubs and I decided to take on and carry out the tradition of having St. Patrick’s Day at our house! Let me tell you, it’s a lot of work, but definitely worth it!
I started cooking bright and early… 8:00 am!!! This meal takes ALL day to cook and the prep for it is also a process, but once its in the pot it simmers on low all day for a whopping 7 hours!

Recipe: One Pot meal- Corned Beef, cabbage, potatoes and carrots:

  • Corned Beef Brisket (I bought 2)
  • Red skin potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Cabbage
  • One large onion
  • Guinness (2 bottles)

Directions:

  • Using a big pot on the stove top
  • Take out corned beef-place in bottom of the pot
  • **make sure you use spice packet that comes with it.
  • Add spice packet
  • Add 2 bottles of Guinness or any other dark colored stout you might prefer
  • Add water until corned beef is submerged.
  • Bring to a boil
  • Once boiling- cover and bring to a simmer- (about 50min per lb of corned beef)
  • While corned beef is simmering- prep veggies.
  • Wash and half potatoes (keep skin on)
  • Wash and peel carrots and cut in thirds
  • Wash cabbage and cut (however you prefer)
  • The last 30min add potatoes and carrots.
  • The last 15min add in cabbage.

Then ENJOY!!!!

Here are some pictures of the process… the hubs and the pups helped decorate and prep the house for company. We had such a great time spending the day with family and friends. We had some delicious homemade deserts brought over to enjoy like homemade Chocolate Guinness cupcakes… AMAZING! And homemade fudge… SO GOOD!!! My contribution to the desert table was funfetti cupcakes… LOL… FYI… I am NOT a BAKER! I decided to garnish mine with green dyed frosting and a green bunny peep (to make it look more homemade).

I wish I would have taken more pictures of all the yummy food and drinks, but I was too busy enjoying the moment! 🙂

I hope you all had a great weekend and joined in on the St. Paddy’s fun…(even if you aren’t Irish).

20130317-210308.jpg

20130317-210413.jpg

20130317-210452.jpg

20130317-210525.jpg

20130317-210600.jpg

20130317-210634.jpg

20130317-210709.jpg

20130317-210740.jpg

20130317-210814.jpg